Poets logo

Forsaken

Ekphrastic Challenge November 2022 #2

By Rae Fairchild (MRB)Published about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Forsaken
Photo by Jonas Kaiser on Unsplash

This poem was written in response to the Rattle® Poetry Ekphrastic Challenge for November 2022 and was ultimately not selected. You can find more information here.

https://www.rattle.com/ekphrastic/

The image that this poem was specifically written about can be found here. (November 2022 – Joshua Eric Williams’ “Humid”)

https://i0.wp.com/www.rattle.com/ekphrasis/EC22Nov.jpg?ssl=1

Forsaken

You abandoned me

When the storm brutally raged outside my door

When nightmares haunted my every step

In the longest hour of the dark

When I needed you most

No warning of your departure

You simply turned your back and walked away

With not even a final word or a parting glance

Even as I cried out your name

Only the emptiness echoed back

A cruel laugh to my broken heart

“You were deserted, child.”

Now, alone and hopeless, I sink to emptiness

The storm pounds fierce on my soul

And my inner demons dance and play in its deluge

I know I will never see the light of day again

Submitted under MRB

sad poetryart
Like

About the Creator

Rae Fairchild (MRB)

I love to write; putting pen to paper fills my heart and calms my soul!

Rae Fairchild is my pen name. (Because why not? Pseudonyms are cool!)

I do publish elsewhere under my real name, Mary Rae Butler. (Fairchild, an old family surname.)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.