Poets logo

Forgotten

So much lost....

By Jack Wayne ArnettPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Shuffling feet go down the busy street. Never look up, there's no one to meet. Tear down these places I haunt with a gaze for shelter in these nameless streets. Buildings reach to heaven but I am denied. I trample the dust of this place, No love as I'm blown like the wind. Horrors of the days now long gone still live in me, the voices echo through time give no mercy. I stay awake days on end to keep the dreams away, in the end sanity goes astray. If just one soul would give me a little love I might believe again. Love is like the shining stars above, see it in the night but so very far away. Stars are like a nail in a vail just to show that love will never prevail. Broken hearted man, broken from the core who will be there when there is nothing more. Take from me now the hands that build, take it from me now these hands that sinned. No one alive, sees me running scared. Face my demon on these streets, wrestle him in fires deep. His nails cut and screams are of rage. Defeat I am beat, lay there dead in the street. An angel cries, and a man of wealth scurries by. Discarded man, is forgotten like the blowing desert sand. No one will be sad, no one will care. So many like me, so many blowing away like sand dunes across these nameless streets. Look them in the eye next time you see one, give a smile, a handshake or even some hope. One day, you too could be me. One day you will be forgotten, in the ground and rotten. Make one day just a little less forgotten.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jack Wayne Arnett

I enjoy writing in many genres. My favorite is horror, but I also enjoy poetry, romance and military life. I love the challenge of writing outside my comfort zone as a challenge. I live in Riverside, California and have 5 daughters.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.