Poets logo

Forgetting you

Learning to live without you

By Kaede feyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Forgetting you
Photo by Anthony Tran on Unsplash

I want to forget you,

but everything seems to remind me of you.

I see you during the day and

I dream about you during the night.

I can feel your touch across my skin, like a gentle breeze.

I can hear your laughter like a whisper in my ear.

My heart still aches for you,

knowing full well you have moved on.

Yet my mind still wont let me forget the memories we shared together.

Everyday I tell myself, this is for my own good.

I need to move on,

I need to let go

I want to move forward without regrets,

but you've always been my biggest regret.

I saw our future together,

but that was not a future you were ready to have with me.

What hurts the most

is I wasn't worth fighting for.

I wasn't the future you wanted.

I hoped I was enough for you, but you wanted more

that I couldn't give you.

You never needed me, as much as I need you

You had a strength that I always admired

All I can do know, is hope I have the strength to

let you go and accept that I need to move on

I need to know how to live without you.

I cant keep hoping for the past to come back, because it will never be the same.

All I can do is live knowing that I'm glad I got to love you.

Expecting something to happen is more painful than not expecting anything at all.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Kaede fey

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.