Poets logo

For the Mothers Without Children in Their Arms

You're a mother too

By Paul and Jordan AspenPublished 2 years ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
1
For the Mothers Without Children in Their Arms
Photo by Elyas Pasban on Unsplash

When a mother loses a child – through abortion, miscarriage, foster care, or something else – the pain is real…and lasting. My heart goes out to those mothers today.

Dear mama with empty arms,

I’m a mother too

No one knows

And the people who once knew have forgotten

Maybe they think I want them to forget

Maybe they think I’ve forgotten

Maybe I want to

But I can’t

How can a mother forget her child?

I remember

When I see a child the age of the one I don’t have

When I wake in the night and my baby isn’t there

When I least expect it

I remember

I am not alone

We are among you

Hiding in plain sight

Beside you in the classroom

Behind you in church

Before you at work

If you know one of us

If you haven’t forgotten

But think we have

Know that we haven’t

And please

Let us know you haven’t either

Because we are mothers too

—Always remembering, a mama

***

From the book my heart poured out by Jordan Aspen

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Paul and Jordan Aspen

Professionally, we help entrepreneurs get other people to sell for them through the power of social proof. Learn more at civanpro.com

Personally, we write... stories, poems, educational articles and more. Read more here on Vocal

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.