Poets logo

For Shirah’s Neighbor

When madness drops from the sky

By Judey Kalchik Published 7 months ago 1 min read
8
For Shirah’s Neighbor
Photo by Ankhesenamun on Unsplash

I’m pretty sure no paratrooper will drop

into my backyard

and take me hostage.

-

I’ve not lost sleep that our yearly splurge

of a music festival

Would be the site of an invasion.

-

A kiss goodbye in the morning

isn’t accompanied

by the fear of an empty house when night falls.

-

The news doesn’t wait outside my windows

seeking a glimpse

of my life to blame me for a nightmare of pain.

-

I take for granted the privilege

to live my life

without seeing it splashed across the news.

-

I remember where I was on 9/11

it changed my life

how many will remember when your world shattered?

-

Your family, your child, your parent

birth home or

determined homeland decision: all are treasures.

-

We have not met, we may not meet

distance is the convenient illusion

of strangers as you seek light, water, heat, help, and hope.

-

Shall I give blood, here,

so that the butterfly wing of connectedness

means your neighbor receives it?

-

Shall I turn my face away

from the truth you cannot escape

and leave you exposed in your grief?

-

I hold the light and a space for you

speak the truth, and when they pass my way

tie tight the fraying bonds that hold our world together.

~~

Two high school friends (Shirah and Michael) live in Israel, and I see them in the headlines of the horror that is unfolding.

War is good for absolutely nothing and diminishes us all.

Please leave a comment, heart, and a prayer- as you would.

heartbreak
8

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • ThatWriterWoman7 months ago

    Gosh this stunned me. Excellent work at highlighting the awfulness happening right now. My love to those there <3

  • Prayers for their safety, as well as the safety & well-being of all those who currently aren't--on all sides of this conflict. Not all Palestinians are Hamas, nor are all Israelis Netanyahu or Zionist radicals attempting to confiscate lands through illegal settlements, yet all are suffering right now.

  • Nice job on this wondrous piece♥️📝💯👍😉✌️

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    This is heartbreaking. I'm at a loss for words..

  • Surely a Top Story, the image drew me in and your words take us into the heart of this conflict

  • Oneg In The Arctic7 months ago

    So much is going on and its only going to get worse. My whole family lives in israel, which is scary. Its also super complicated because Palestinians are getting wiped out for resisting occupation and standing up for themselves- while Hamas doesn't speak for all either. Its so complex. Its so f-ed up. Gaza and West Bank are legit an open air prison. But its like- two peoples cannot exist without erasing the other. And that in itself is part of the root problem. anyways.

  • Rachel Deeming7 months ago

    So much war. Hope that your friends are safe.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.