Poets logo

For My Son...

For every mom who understands the wonder of having a child.

By Dré ClevelandPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

Sometimes I wake up early just to trace the contours of his face

With half drawn eye lids.

His skin's so soft...

Lips so full...

His eyes so big like twin moons...

He looks just like me.

Awakens the full energy of "Mother" in me.

I see little man, ruler of everything,

He is my golden child.

And in his slumber I wonder what he dreams of...

Taking over the world...or his MJ glove...

I wonder does he know that "this" really means love...

Snuggled under Mommy's breast,

He's afraid of the dark,

He runs to me and,

I take care of the rest.

Now he rests, soundly, breathing life into my day.

Couldn't imagine it any other way,

Glad he traveled my path.

Birthed like the sun, dipped in divine math.

This glass is more than half full.

My cup is overflowing,

Filled with love bigger than the room we sleep in.

Eyes half awake, capture his sleepy grin.

He sensed me staring.

Little hands touch my cheek and I wonder just how long this will last.

Sixteen comes quickly as six becomes the past....

And even then...I'll wake up early just to trace the contours of his face

with half drawn eye lids.

He'll look just like me...

Little man, ruler of everything.

Proud to be a king.

And, in his slumber I'll still wonder what he dreams of...

Maybe more taking over the world than his MJ glove...

But I know that he'll know "this" really means love.

No longer afraid of the dark,

But whenever he's afraid I pray he'll still come to me.

Because his Mommy will still be there to help him see.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Dré Cleveland

I am a writer. It is how I share my voice with the world - mainly because I used to feel like I had no voice. Outside of my writing, I felt like no one was listening. I've grown but I still let my writing speak for me when no other way can.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.