Poets logo

For My Daddy

My Hero, My Friend

By Nikki LynnPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
2

In childhood days of make-believe dreams,

My daddy played Barbies, or so it seems.

With a heart so patient, a love so true,

I was his shadow, a daddy's girl through and through.

As "daddy's girl" I was always by your side,

You never grew impatient, in me, you took pride.

Helping you work on the car, what fun we'd share,

With grease on my face, showing you I was there.

Unconditional love, despite my demands,

He held me close with gentle hands.

His jokes were silly, but I'd always smile,

Laughing together, just us for a while.

We shared a passion for music's embrace,

His guitar's chords, a tender grace.

And basketball became our game,

He taught me to shoot, to score, to aim.

Through ups and downs, he stood by my side,

His patience and love, an unwavering guide.

Working hard to provide the best life you could,

Protecting me fiercely, as a good father would.

He worked so hard to give us his best,

In his eyes, I knew I was truly blessed.

Changing oil or tires, I didn't have to know,

But you made sure I learned, as you watched me grow.

You said I was special, worth waiting for,

The best daddy a girl could ever adore,

Now, it's hard to watch his light grow dim,

As memories fade and days grow grim.

My first love, my hero, once so strong,

I'll hold this image my whole life long.

Through tearful eyes, I'll always see,

The daddy who means the world to me.

In hearts entwined, our love will stay,

Forever cherished, come what may.

Mental Healthsad poetryheartbreakFamily
2

About the Creator

Nikki Lynn

I have recently discovered that I have a passion for writing. Short fiction stories and poems have been my focus thus far. I am looking for other areas to experiment in.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani5 months ago

    The bitter truth of aging. Your dad sounds like an amazing person! Take care, Nikki.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.