Poets logo

For Former Pupils

Comfort, Seen.

By No Real BalancePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
For Former Pupils
Photo by 2y.kang on Unsplash

For my former pupils,

I entered a contest

to write about comfort

[Ironic, given the times, if you ask me]

But I acquiesced, studied the craft,

Now here we both are, hopefully.

I’ve learned, via venues, you, pupils,

are all well about the world. Know,

Comfort, I find, in your successes

Cheer in your special announcements,

Contentment in your engagements

your promotions placate

Joy witnessing your dreams arrive to fruition.

I succored the notes, kept the cards,

Held onto cornered doodles. From above, I wrapped up in flags,

crafted from your origin, used for experiments

I packed it all up into a box

Shut off the monitor

Turned a key.

And left.

.

Now,

I’ve entered a vocal contest

[poetry none the less]

to find comfort in the grief.

With scoured reflection, the only solace

I found is garnered in the echo of you, my former pupils.

I want to capture every reverberation of memory like I would

an insect. Handle the comfort of it

with delicate precision, pinned in motion,

paper-thin preservation, wax pressed. Catalogued.

Collected. Studied

on display in full, scrutinizing beauty.

But I can’t.

Because I am no poet.

I only teach science.

.

38

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

No Real Balance

Reluctant Writer. Teacher.

Hawking vocal contests for love letters.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Kristen Tejeraabout a year ago

    Really solid writing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.