Poets logo

For Fatherless Daughters

This is us.

By Iman MilnerPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

i want to write

about my father’s

death

make a clear

connection

between all of

the mistakes

i’ve made

and

the grief

i’ve never

dealt with.

connect

the words

i didn’t say

at his

funeral

to all the times

i felt unheard.

i want to write

about battling

to see him

as

untarnished

but living

long enough

to see

him

as merely human

point out

my difficulty

to trust

as a

byproduct

of never

wanting to be

left again.

regard myself

highly

for not

falling apart

but

needing a

therapist

all the same

i want to write

about being

better

healed

an acceptance

of my fatherless

existence

but i only

have fire in

the back of my eyes

i only have

the few photos

i can bear

to look at

and his last name

that

someday

will be replaced

i am eternally 16

still

insurmountably wounded

by a sudden shift

in my world

that no one

prepared me for

i am still searching

for my father

in every man

who loves

jazz

still disappointed

to return from

my journeys

unloved

unprotected

and

more hollow

i want to write about

my father

my father

my…

—father’s day

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Iman Milner

birthed by jazz, raised by hip hop---i am the girl tupac told to keep her head up and the bitch miles warned would brew. i write because i am far too often silenced and my pen lets me scream.

Instagram: @imannmilner

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.