Poets logo

For David

Always my starman. And I dream of him.

By Germaine MooneyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
For David
Photo by Gabriel Bassino on Unsplash

The dust shone,

trickled and danced

in the moonlight

blue, silver, blue

a halo of miniscule stars

surrounding him,

settling on his shoulders,

marring the perfect white

of his perfect suit.

I wanted him to be

My visitor

from the night.

I thought he'd come

from light years away,

that the dust was residue

from the Big Dipper

the coldness in his eyes

from the vast depths

of space.

But when he walked it was

with a man's tread

crunching fallen leaves

like my dreams

beneath his boots.

He came to take me away,

not in a ship

but with starlight

blue, white, blue

with writing on its doors

He held out his hand,

And I ran with him to the stars.

Run. Take my hand and run.

The starlight will keep you safe.

This is a dream.

A dream.

A dream.

The dust shone.

Fell from the Big Dipper.

That’s when I saw him first.

Dressed in white.

In starlight.

I thought he’d come.

From light years away.

The coldness in his eyes.

From the vast depths.

From space.

But when he walked, he walked as a man.

He came to me and held out his hand.

He had come to take me.

Away away away.

Each day.

Blue, white, blue.

crunching fallen leaves

like my dreams

beneath his boots.

He came to take me away,

with starlight.

His suit was perfect white,

And in his eyes a halo.

My visitor every night.

In the starlight.

In the dark.

But when he walked, he walked as a man.

He came to me and held out his hand.

He had come to take me.

Away away away.

Each night.

Blue, white, blue.

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Germaine Mooney

dark romance writer, poet, relationship councillor and sci-fantasy geek. Geek culture reviewer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.