Poets logo

For All Those Who Wander

A Poem

By EJ FergusonPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
5
For All Those Who Wander
Photo by Vlad Chernolyasov on Unsplash

Home to me has always been between pages

Thoughts and dreams caught in simple shapes

Words woven together

Black on white

Like twigs into a nest

Rarely do I spare a thought for the birds,

On countless kaleidoscope wings

They gather the odds and ends of anonymous lives

In flights of fancy, they make their strange houses

and there is where

I live.

Where would I be if not for the birds?

Grounded, greasy from the dust and dirt

Empty eyed and bare skinned

Instead, I am painted in ink

Letters spiral on my skin

Kernels of truth glitter

like diamonds at my throat

And pearls of wisdom gleam

in the tresses of my hair

By their lifeworld

I am made bright.

I am a blessed nomad.

Into the razor-edged everyday

I carry a pocketful of eggs

the smooth caress of shell on skin

and round warm weight

in the palm of my hand.

Whenever or wherever I wander

When the silence finds me,

There is birdsong, too.

surreal poetry
5

About the Creator

EJ Ferguson

EJ Ferguson is a UK-based writer and occasional poet. She holds a BA in Creative Writing from University of South Wales, and is perpetually working on a debut novel. She is often found buried beneath soft blankets and two enormous cats.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Joey Feduniewicz2 years ago

    Love this!

  • Caroline Jane2 years ago

    Ahhhh. This is good. Stretches the senses. ✌️

  • Great poem!

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Fabulous!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.