Poets logo

For A Second

within a second

By Brenton FPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
8

for a second there

i was able to answer

within a second

the riddles of our times

outside the seconds

all those questions

that ever needed

an answer

all those answers

that needed

to be explained

all the time

that was saved

all the time

to be brave

and for a slight second

the universes

opened up and

showed me

my eyes are still dazzled

my throat is still dry

my mind was melted for a moment

i just stared into the sky

a mere malleable mind moment

as i didn't even try

to resist or refrain

and then it was gone

but for a second

a smidge

i was in it

in it truly

(for a second)

balls and all

social commentarysurreal poetry
8

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsden11 months ago

    like a fucking sneeze

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    This is stunning! This bit rolls off the tongue so well "a mere malleable mind moment"! Great stuff and actually really relatable!

  • Gina C.11 months ago

    I love this - "and for a slight second the universes opened up and showed me" this was so beautiful to me; I've had moments where I swear I'm on the brink of understanding something huge, and then in a blink, it's gone 🥲 Wonderful job! ❤️

  • Andrew C McDonald11 months ago

    There’s a moment coming. Wait for it. It’s almost here. Just a second… wait for it…, wait for it…, CRAP! It’s gone. … … *sigh* Very cool job Brenton. I like this. And I like the pluralization in “the universes opened up…” Yay multiverse! 🌑🌘🌗🌖🌕🌔🌓🌘🌑

  • Enlightenment is a beautiful experience! Awesome poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.