Poets logo

Follower

Written Feb. 19, 2010

By Ashley HolbrookPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Eat my heart out

With your lying eyes

With your clenched fist

Your fake disguise

Twist the dagger

You shoved in my spine

Watch it cry red

I bleed out my mind

You've got me chained

To the ocean floor

To your black heart

I can't breathe anymore

I see my reflection

In your bottomless eyes

And a slave stares back

Silent as it dies

You stole my voice

And spoke for me

Twisted my words

Into a deformity

But I'll never leave you

You trained me well

Kept my leash tight

Dragged me when I fell

My mind is starved

It thirsts for more

More of your abuse

My dreams are sore

From being beaten down

And buried under your burn

Your burning, cold heart

I have much to learn

You're the ring leader

With a crack of your whip

But I see through your act

You read from a script

You're flying high now

I mean nothing at all

But the higher you go

The harder you fall.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Ashley Holbrook

Writing is a passion that I used to have until my life got too busy. I'm making a solid effort to make time for it again, though.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.