Poets logo

Follow Fuchsia

a poem

By Vicky DiMichelePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
10

An explosion of turquoise and green

Azure waters

Golden dunes

Happiness

One phone call turns everything grey

This new world of monotone

The haze of the day leads into the fog of night

Light grey wine sipped from my crystal chalice

Dark grey mush swallowed from my Mikasa bowl

Black of night silent in my dreams

Repeat

Repeat

Repeat

Black and white words appear in my notebook

My black notebook

Notebook

There are no colors now

Just black and white

All or nothing

All or nothing

All or nothing

The bottom of the well is dark

It is dark but I see brown

Cool brown mud around my feet

Wiggle your big toe

Just one

Look up

Arms raise, aimed towards the light

I pull

Higher and higher

Lighter and lighter

Black and white

Yes

But fuchsia now too

I peek over the edge of the well

Into the pinkish-yellow light of dawn

There is my path

Winding through the evergreens

Muddy toes plant themselves

Legs ready to sprint

I can see it

I can finally see it

Thank you for taking the time to read my very first attempt at poetry. This poem is based around my recent experience of being laid off from the travel industry due to covid. Fuchsia is chosen to represent my new company, started from the ashes of what once was. Feel free to check it out at www.genxluxe.com and join me on my path!

inspirational
10

About the Creator

Vicky DiMichele

Travel blogger, author and wine lover who loves creativity in all aspects of life.

@genxluxetravel & @graphixmgr

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.