Poets logo

Flying

My Dream World

By Dan R FowlerPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

Flying

Each night as I lay upon my bed sleeping,

After memories shared, the dreamworld comes creeping.

There in my mind’s vast unlimited space,

Dreams and images create other worlds of which I embrace.

Even though I don’t understand why I must go,

The stranger in white takes me in tow.

I see people from all places, colors, and times,

Standing, speaking, understanding love, its enjoyment sublime.

It’s the person that’s with me that takes my hand,

And lifts me gently from the ground whereon I stand.

We rise together slowly at first,

Until we are able to look down upon the earth.

There’s no sorrow or grieving that I can see,

As I survey a timeless valley filled with people that are free.

We float a moment longer above the gathering below,

Until my friend tells me this is only a smattering, then I must go.

I think within myself whatever could this mean,

Floating with someone not in the flesh, this person I’ve never seen.

Smiles and warm thoughts were exchanged by us both,

As we gently moved higher as more scenes were invoked.

With outstretched arms as if pushing the wind,

He carried me much further, this my spiritual friend.

He’d spoken to me often of which I tried to listen,

But life’s tears and sorrows sometimes caused omission.

Together we travel no longer bound or tethered,

By life’s restrictions that bind all in some measure.

In my dream worlds beyond this life that we see,

I this spiritual person dressed in white who’s coming for me.

In time, of this, there’s no doubt,

I’ll cease my earthly labors without a pout.

For this man in white who visits me nightly,

Will at that time tug on me ever so slightly.

At that time with eyes closed tightly,

I’ll stop my journeys those I do nightly.

Above this that I’m now able to see,

I’ll take my final flight to my destiny.

By Dan R. Fowler

For: Astrid

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Dan R Fowler

Dan R. Fowler. https://www.amazon.com/Verge-Dan-R-Fowler. Completed 41 novels since 2017. Screenplay being shopped by Voyage Media, LA, CA

.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.