Poets logo

Fly Away, Free Bird

...But Don't Forget Us

By Natalie GrayPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Fly Away, Free Bird
Photo by Matthias Götzke on Unsplash

1 The Nest feels so cold and empty,

No life, no warmth, no song.

She's spread her wings, and now she's gone,

To find where she belongs.

2 It's a joyous sight, it's true,

To see a Little Bird take flight.

There was no joy for us, I fear,

When she fled so quick last night.

3 For months now, her song had gone silent;

Anger, lying, scheming... just not there.

Forgetting to say, "I love you."

Neglecting to remind us, "I care."

4 We bade our time, and tried to cope,

Tried to be patient, to understand.

We hoped to hear her song again,

Joyful when she'd hop back into our hands.

5 But then, she left; so quickly,

Feathers flying and chirping with rage.

She burst from the nest with fire, and ilk,

A Phoenix exploding from her gilded cage.

6 I'm happy she's gone, really,

Her wings looked wondrous fair

I have to smile, to say, "Fare the well,"

To keep from drowining in despair.

7 I hope to see my Little Free Bird again,

Even though my heart breaks to see her leave.

She's flying free, sharing her song with someone else,

While I'm left here to grieve.

8 Be free, Little Bird,

Enjoy your won'drous flight.

I'll just stay here, hoping one day you'll return,

With an aching heart and open window every single night.

heartbreaksad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Natalie Gray

Welcome, Travelers! Allow me to introduce you to a compelling world of Magick and Mystery. My stories are not for the faint of heart, but should you deign to read them I hope you will find them entertaining and intriguing to say the least.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.