Poets logo

Floss and Carrots

A Poem

By Meadow Leight-BellPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
2
Floss and Carrots
Photo by Philip Brown on Unsplash

I keep forgetting we need floss and baby carrots

Until I brush my teeth or fix my husband’s lunch.

Starting a list, I add shampoo and dog food.

I am on a quest to find food the dog likes.

Rumbling in the stove drawer, a mouse tries to

Take poisonous bait but must be too large for my trap.

The dog and I hear it late while others sleep,

But the food is untouched and the trap mouse-less

In the morning. “Better mouse trap,” I write on my paper

as the dog lifts his head, ears perked,

And fixes his gaze on the stove.

Rain rat-a-tats on the roof of this tiny, old cottage

And I think it will help bring sleep.

“I don’t buy those because I know where they come from,”

An old lady said the last time I put baby carrots in my cart.

A barred owl hoots, hauntingly, outside the kitchen window.

“It is their mating season,” a neighbor had mentioned to me

As we spoke, briefly, while I walked Crash.

The scent of a burning pineapple-mango candle begins to overwhelm me.

As I blow it out, Crash and I hear fluttering,

Low, against the outer wall behind the stove.

And I scratch “better mouse trap” off my list.

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Meadow Leight-Bell

Meadow Leight-Bell has a BA in English from the University of Arkansas at Little Rock. She writes from Lawrence, Kansas, with her trusty shepkita, Crash.

Cover Photo by Free Steph on Unsplash

Twitter: @twitz_end

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.