Poets logo

Floating around the galaxies,

Written long before I had ever heard of lockdown,

By Jeannine KauffmannPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Floating around the galaxies,
Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

Blue sky with white clouds,

Darkness engulfing us,

Planets in the distance,

Flying objects I can’t communicate with

As all communication and talking,

Has to be organised, monitored and recorded,

Before being started.

Bright sunlight in the distance

But icy cold wind where I am,

If I would dare go out, I would freeze to death there and then.

All of us lonely little islands,

Flying through the galaxy with no goal,

Just pushed around by gravity and some mega heated engine

That make isolated little people

Of the few that have survived.

There is a limited colour scheme to look at through the window,

Only the one and constant electric light bulbs

All over the ship, and constant recording,

Wonder who watches when I have my daily shower,

Expecting a food delivery today,

Very low on everything,

But will be able to chat to the delivery robot for about five minutes

Till next month.

Never know what I will get and cannot choose.

Just a nice smile for all that food.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Jeannine Kauffmann

Poetry writer in the early morning. Poetry as a wake up call. Then later I draw lines and colours. I have a page on Instagram my art other than words although it contains words too. Titles are important to finish a piece like a full stop.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.