Poets logo

Float

Things Happen in Their own Time

By Sidney SmithPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Float
Photo by shehab abbas on Unsplash

I tell myself to ascend

And I ascend

The voice of God

At my right hand

And as I climb

There is more to find

Clearing the vision

That once was blind

Amazing grace

I seem to face

Up the ladder

I continue to embrace

Undeserving

Is what I am

Yet all I need

Is all I am

Self serving

Always yearning

At some pace

In this race

Yet I have all I need

In front of my face

The grass as carpet

The world is home

The oxygen I breathe

In this planetary

Dome

And all the ability

All the scenery

The sounds

The greenery

Is all I need to sustain me

The higher I go

I reach divine

Metaphysical

Matter space and time

An illusion

A part of dream time

Aboriginal ancestors cry

But it is so real

I can touch

I can feel

The true connection

And that it all heals

My heart torn

From those trapped

And worn

And I warn

I cry and scorn

Stuck on humanly things

I mourn

Envious of their adorn

Wish I could just dismiss

What is spiritually born

Develop relationships

That are earth born

It sustains

It is all we need

Yet I keep climbing

I keep reaching

Wanting to see the deepness

In everything

I am only an earthling

So back to earth I go

Body will turn to dust

And from the dust

Earth shall grow

And the spirit is for the spirit

And when the time reaches

It will not need to climb

It does it on its own

It will ascend when it must

For it was made to float.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Sidney Smith

A picture tells a thousand words, and a thousand words can paint a beautiful picture.

I have been a writer all of my life. It has been like an anchor for me to release emotions, process ideas, and escape into a world of fantasy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.