Poets logo

Flight

Haiku cycle

By Sonia Heidi UnruhPublished about a year ago 1 min read
5
photo: Pixabay

Day Begins

photo: Pixabay

Feathered flecks of night

fling westward on sun-drawn shafts

Stars fade in teal wake

---

Mid-Day

photo: Pixabay

Cast across cobalt,

a silhouette snags the sun

a beat, then arcs west

---

Day's End

photo: Pixabay

Wings arrow sunward

piercing sapphire; bloody light

slowly sieves to stars

---

Midnight

photo by Tyler Jamieson Moulton on Unsplash

A constellation

huddles beside the still pond

Grey moon glides alone

---

photo: Pixabay

nature poetry
5

About the Creator

Sonia Heidi Unruh

I love: my husband and children; all who claim me as family or friend; the first bite of chocolate; the last blue before sunset; solving puzzles; stroking cats; finding myself by writing; losing myself in reading; the Creator who is love.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    I love the progression highlighted in your poems.

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    I'm definitely in the same court as Ward on this one. Beautifully written and visual enough without the images. I'm glad you followed is advice.

  • Quincy.Vabout a year ago

    Visualy appealing

  • Ward Norcuttabout a year ago

    this is lovely for a lot of reasons...many stars and a wish. firstly, my wish- I wish you let the words do the "talking" - they are enough, more than enough, to convey your intent; each haiku having its own title and picture (for me) weakens the beauty and invention of your imagery.- as if to say, "this is what I mean by this..." Stars...I am not surprised that this took some work - your imagery is quite wonderful in all four haikus; your use of alliteration and consonance in each is smooth and effective - and a couple of simply beautiful images- "bloody light slowly sieves to stars" "a silhouette snags the sun"...please! all of it constructed with wit and purpose. finally - a poem truly worthy of praise

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.