Poets logo

Fleetingly Perfect Happiness

Worth living a lifetime to experience even just once

By Colleen Millsteed Published 2 years ago 1 min read
6
Image courtesy of Pixabay

You placed a crown upon my head on this very day

My face graced a smile that made my eyes shine,

On a beach of pure white sand and pure blue seas

The sun was shining, both blessed on a day so fine.

***

Happiness was bliss, I couldn’t have ask for more

My time had finally arrived and the world was mine,

White sand, bare feet, black jeans and silver rings

A palm tree, bending in the wind, our glorious shrine.

***

It had been twenty years since I’d felt such happiness

A day that was both pivotal and importance combine,

I watched as you cried in joy, the truth finally revealed

We had both waited for ever so long for just this sign.

***

That memory is tucked into my heart, never forgotten

Like it all happened just yesterday, our hands entwine,

Happiness this pure doesn’t come around that often

So I give way to my grief today, is it any wonder I pine?

***

Our day was different combinations of black and white

It was so typically us, unspoken but organised by design,

You and your best friend both draped from head to toe

In the blackness of your heart, shrivelled and evil malign.

***

I learned bitterly, that ecstatic happiness is way too high

The fall back to earth a sudden drop, not a slow decline,

If ever given the choice, I’d live happily that day again

Because that type of happiness even for a day is divine.

***

Nineteen years have passed since, do you often wonder

As I do, if we individually attempted to go out and find,

Did you feel happiness once again as pure as that day

Or like me, you knew our day would forever outshine?

**************************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

heartbreak
6

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    Very beautiful!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.