Poets logo

Fleeting Moments of Peace

Mindfulness Poetry

By StaringalePublished 9 days ago 1 min read
Fleeting Moments of Peace
Photo by Alice Triquet on Unsplash

Sitting at the edge of a lake with feet dipped in the flowing water in the silence of the morning is a whole another level of relaxation.

The serenity of the early morning with flocks of birds flying around to begin their day and their chirping adding a melody to start the day. It was a show to be admired in peace.

Watching this show I am enjoying the cool morning breeze, the water currents around my feet felt as if I was getting a massage to get the blood flowing.

It felt so relaxing. With my feet still in water I laid back watching the clouds drift by - it was at this moment that I was starting to doze off.

I closed my eyes for two seconds and that 2 seconds turned out to be 90 minutes.

I was woken by my mom who was looking has if I gave her a scare. Feeling bad I hugged her retelling her about the experience.

It didn't help and I was scolded and told to have my phone with me whenever I was out of home. I would be following this advice but who carries phone with them for 24/7 but if it eases my mom then I will do it.

Though I have my doubts - even if the phone is with me and I have dozed off it's unlikely that I would wake up to a phone ring.

Feet in flowing lake,

Morning stillness brings solace,

Nature's harmony surrounds,

As a peaceful show unfolds.

Soothing water massage & drifting clouds,

Sing a silent nature's lullaby.

As I doze off,

Two seconds turned to hours,

Abrupt awakening by a worried mom,

Phone rule now enforced.

Nature's call, so sweet,

Waiting to be visited again.

Have you ever experienced such a moment in nature?

Do you carry phone with you 24/7?

surreal poetryOdenature poetryMental HealthGratitude

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Esala Gunathilake9 days ago

    All the feelings felt like my own. Such amazement was there. You are too good at writing about mindfulness!

  • If I'm at home, I don't always have my phone on me but I would hear it if it rings or if anyone texts. If I'm out, then yes, I'll have my phone on me all times. Loved your beautiful poem!

  • Wow those lines are so powerful Staringale.. Yes I also love to do this and I can imagine the way two seconds turned into ninety minutes.. That's the way time flies when we are doing a thing that we love most..I personally find the time flies so quickly when I'm watching night sky or a soothing range of mountains...

SWritten by Staringale

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.