Poets logo

Flashy

What a shame (for you) your Big Bang was the death of me.

By KJ AartilaPublished 24 days ago 1 min read
7
Flashy
Photo by Ankhesenamun on Unsplash

I’m a dinosaur from a land before time

Never thinking beyond the gilded frame

I walked this planet thinking all was fine

***

Quietly avoiding planted land mines

Now here I sink, mired in black pits of shame

I’m a dinosaur from a land before time

***

In the shattered Earth, I draw a deep line

Sink or swim, this life will not be the same

I walked this planet thinking all was fine

***

But now I see, this world was never mine

Watching the sun, my eyes burst into flame

I’m a dinosaur from a land before time

***

My life, part of yours, by simple design

With no more rose tinting, I can see who came

I walked this planet thinking all was fine

***

No longer a part of your misguided fame,

I revert to the creature that can’t be tamed

I’m a dinosaur from a land before time

I once walked this planet thinking all was fine.

****************************************

Villanelle
7

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments

KJ Aartila is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.