Poets logo

Flash Back

Watching technology transition from computers with the back off to slim computers or should I say laptops better yet tablets 😂, has been interesting! Seeing platforms mould into the ones we know now has come by so fast I mean who knows where we will end up in the next 50-100 years ay. I thought I'd bring some nostalgia through this poem, so if you know, you know!

By Grace BlessingPublished about a year ago • 1 min read
Like

Let me tell you about growing up during the digital age transition ,

Where social media was:

MSN,

MySpace,

or Bebo,

If you don't know, my bad, I guess thats making my age show!

Wait till you hear my email address name: baby 2 die for;

Who told me to have confidence like this at 12 years old though!

Downloading songs off limewire, that's when I learnt what a Trojan horse was ooo

CD players turnt to mp3, or iPod shuffle if you were elite my G!

You know back then there was only androids no iPhones;

If you didn't have bbm to the rest of the world , you were living in another time zone.

Initially this poem was to talk about what it would be like to be born in Gen Z

But the more I deep it, I'm glad I was born in the 90s

Where creative flare encouraged freedom of speech;

And we didn't really care to document each,

Moment like we are selling a timeshare at the beach!

I mean it wasn't perfect; but I feel I'm able to understand the generational differences,

Adapting with the changes that we are constantly witnessing!

Man! I already feel like I have been using the quote 'back in my day',

Cause so much has evolved with technology,

Lord knows what my grandkids world will look like, it's beyond me!

As long as I can rock in my chair in peace.

Knowing that the building blocks of my generation contributed to progress that we will later on foresee

Grace Blessing!

listperformance poetryfact or fictionart
Like

About the Creator

Grace Blessing

My poetry has always been a tool to articulate my feelings and emotions. Poetry communicates effectively in a way I couldn't do conventionally, whilst also providing a sense of healing and release.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.