Poets logo

Five Not Fun

No comfort in poetry

By No Real BalancePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Five Not Fun
Photo by Birmingham Museums Trust on Unsplash

I vowed 40 submissions

This is the fifth

I am over the poetry.

I prepared. Studied classics.

Dissected pentameter

connected synecdoche

similes to metaphors

Noted caesura in the climax

I even located personified ashes

See

Poetry makes no sense

I teach science, not English,

Don't have three names

like William H. Shakespeare

I'm more like an anaponempeia

fucking acronym.

Oops.

Am I allowed that language?

Figured so

If rap can be poetry

Then I can use foul words

homophonic synonyms of

antonymic opposites

syntactic grammar

logically deducing

feets, I believe you call them

Does that even mean anything?

I'm trying.

I don't understand poetry

Except for one poem

The one about the boot soles:

"Failing to Fetch me at first; keep encouraged

Missing me one place, search another;

I stop somewhere, waiting for you."

Oops.

Am I allowed to do that?

Figured if insta-stories reposts

anonymous quotes

I can cite Mr. Whitman

Besides, laws I know belong to Newton

He only had three

Not the 1, 573 rules of poetry

Who invented this stuff anyway?

Lyrical Dramatic Narrative

rhymed blank

At point words cut Epic

Cycle. Or is it Cyclopes

Taunting

Sea lurch, discus hurled boulders

The belched bile of pit swirling hell

Charbydis' churned balance

into no name

See what I just did there?

Neither do I.

But I studied it all

to write one poem

each for 40 days

to tell what happened

after a Friday in March

First words spoke

You are leaving

Pledged syntactical

connotated alliteration

soliloquied syllogism

Hyperbole of fuck it

There is no comfort

None

Blippity Blop, Poopy-Pants

That's my stab at Shakespeare

5

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

No Real Balance

Reluctant Writer. Teacher.

Hawking vocal contests for love letters.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrew C McDonald2 years ago

    This was quite interesting. Not sure about comfort... lol. But, I certainly get where it's coming from. Good job.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.