Poets logo

Five Boys

A poem that considers the human cost of war as well as the the significant impact it so often has on its participants - unwilling or not.

By ApogeePublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Like
Image Generated Using Midjourney A.I.

Five Boys

/

Five Boys went over the top.

Through a rain of bullets and the gates of hell

Four Men went over the top.

Towards the din of guns where the enemy dwells.

/

Three Soldiers went over the top

Answering the questions their country has asked

Two Brothers went over the top

Making good on that for which they were tasked.

/

But only a Crippled soul returned.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Apogee

Thanks for checking out my bio! What can I say? If you have read some of my work, I hope you liked it. Likewise, I relish the opportunity to discover some of the beautiful work done by my fellow writers. You guys are awesome!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.