Poets logo

Fishing For A Wish

A free verse poem about my earliest memories of fishing!

By Talia DevoraPublished about a year ago 1 min read
5
Fishing For A Wish
Photo by Tim Nöhrer on Unsplash

I fished for the pike,

while I silently sat

on the large gray rock.

I held the red, metal fishing rod,

as I listened to the sweet voice

of the little splashes,

and tiny lake bubbles blowing.

I saw tall, flashy, pine green trees,

quaint riverside cottages,

and wooden ochre huts

scattered along the glimmering cobalt lake.

I heard the swishing

of the neon orange sparkly fishtail,

and chubby lips

going for the wormed hook.

I danced

to the chant

of the misty breeze,

and countryside wind

travelling around and around

the little, serene, rural Canadian island.

A fisherwoman’s wish came true;

I caught an electric yellow pike,

as I waited and waited

to feel a bite!

By Vidar Nordli-Mathisen on Unsplash

Thank you for taking the time to read my poem! If you liked this poem, please give it a ❤️, share it with others and don't hesitate to send me a tip! Stay tuned, subscribe to me and visit my public profile for a chance to discover and read more exciting Vocal poems, stories and articles on a variety of interesting subjects. If you want to connect with me outside of Vocal, please follow me on Instagram! Have a great weekend and rest well!

IG Account: @tdwrites24

By Chase Baker on Unsplash

surreal poetrynature poetry
5

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Cendrine Marrouat11 months ago

    Nice one, Talia!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.