Poets logo

First they came...2022

A Poem

By Atomic HistorianPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
18
First they came...2022
Photo by visuals on Unsplash

Given the current circumstances, I felt it was necessary to update Martin Niemöller’s poem, “First they came…,” from 1946 for the new era we are in.

First they came for the abortions

And I did not speak out

Because I did not want an abortion

Then they came for contraception

And I did not speak out

Because I didn’t always need contraception

Then they came for same sex marriage

And I did not speak out

Because I was not in a same sex relationship

Then they came for the interracial couples

And I did not speak out

Because I was not in an interracial couple

Then they came for the immigrants

And I did not speak out

Because I was not an immigrant

Then they came for the native children

And I did not speak out

Because I did not have native children

They rolled back every law they could

From New York to Hollywood

And when they came for me

There was no one left

No one was left to speak for me

And now I’m imprisoned in the land of the free

Thank you for reading my work. If you enjoyed this story, there’s more below. Please hit the like and subscribe button, you can follow me on Twitter @AtomicHistorian, and if you want to help me create more content, please consider leaving a tip or a pledged subscriber.

More from this author:

social commentary
18

About the Creator

Atomic Historian

Heavily irradiated historian developing my writing career. You can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Judey Kalchik 8 months ago

    Imprisoned in the Land of the Free- Wow. Way to end this. Amazing

  • Cendrine Marrouat8 months ago

    Mic drop! This is SO powerful!

  • Sandra Tena Cole11 months ago

    So poignant and necessary! Thank you for using your poetry to speak up x

  • Judey Kalchik 11 months ago

    I am filled with sorrow that our negligence is so prolific that it filled two versions.

  • Wow!!❤️

  • Angela Derscha2 years ago

    Loved it and it's more true than ever before!

  • Bri Craig2 years ago

    Excellent work. The original poem is fantastic and you did an excellent job updating it for the current state of affairs in the US, and the worries many of us are experiencing right now.

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    I like the honesty in the poem♥️

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    This is fabulous

  • Harmony Kent2 years ago

    Fantastic! 💕🙂

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Outstanding!!! 💖💕

  • A brilliant take on the original, why is this not a Top Story?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.