Poets logo

First Snow

I miss you the most when I experience my firsts

By A. NguyenPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
First Snow
Photo by Hide Obara on Unsplash

The gentle falling of the first snow.

A burst of exhilaration for a child

who only knew two seasons:

chilly autumn and blazing summer.

Brought to attention by an ice fairy's call

and an elf exploding in wonder at the foreign sight.

Hours later, the real magic began.

Small snowflakes danced a waltz in

intricate flurries that built a white canvas,

masking the known path with a smooth sheet

ready to hold the beauty of a new beginning.

Looking back at the art created by

snow angels and footprints adorning

an unfinished painting still being decorated

by the falling snow, the image imprinted itself

on my soul as everything was encaptured

in the soft glow of streetlights.

In that moment, I thought of you.

Wanting to share the excitement

and wonderous joy that were

spilling out of my being-

desiring to show you the beauty

seen through my eyes in my world,

one far from yours- I reach

for my phone only to remember

and then the loneliness settled in.

Yearning to share this first

yet there was no way to do so.

I looked up at the dark sky

filled with specks of stars shining

for the snow as it gracefully fell

and a small smile pulled at my lips

as the freezing temperatures

stunk my skin, confusing me.

Was it the cold or the heartbreak

numbing my heart?

heartbreaknature poetrysad poetry
Like

About the Creator

A. Nguyen

A writer at heart who wants to share my works. I want to evoke emotion in people when they read my writing but I won't ever know if I can, if I don't put anything out into the world so this is my first step :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.