Poets logo

First Marriage

By: Jonathan Hinternish

By Jonathan HinternishPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

First Marriage

By: Jonathan Hinternish

I remember your smile.

I remember how happy it made me when I saw your face.

You really brightened up me day.

I remember our first kiss.

It felt like Heavenly Bliss.

I remember how you would laugh.

I remember holding you to comfort you when you cried because how hurt you were when a family member had died.

I remember the night you asked me the one question.

“Do you want to start a family?”

I remember me answer. It was “Yes”.

We looked at each other with such passion in our eyes as we made unforgettable passionate love until the morning’s light.

I remember how all the way through the pregnancy how happy we were.

How excited and care-free.

We didn’t know what our wee-un would be.

All we knew was we were happy.

Then the big day came.

He arrived at 3:25 am.

After, as time went on you grew apart from me.

I wondered why.

The the questions became all too clear.

You were having a secret affair for more than a year.

While we were still married you moved in with her.

However, you did not stop there.

You through me in jail under false intensions like you had not a care.

After I got out, I could not see our son for five months or more.

I was torn apart inside because of how you cheated and lied.

When you did all that, my love that I had for you had died.

Now I’m remarried.

I’m happy and free.

But through it all I will never forget how much your love meant to me.

There are still times I still think of you and how you use to be.

I still remember your sweet smile.

A smile that will always be with me.

I will remember the person you were.

Not the person you came to be.

For that’s who I remember.

My Stephenie.

My first true love.

My first wife.

I will always remember your sweet smile.

All the days of me life.

They say you never forget your first.

That is true.

All the good and bad times shall be reminders.

Of do’s and do not’s for marriage number two.

vintage
Like

About the Creator

Jonathan Hinternish

Hello! My name is Jonathan. I welcome everyone to my page. I'm a people person at heart. And I always welcome making new friends. All comments on my poetry is always welcome as well. Please, come in, make yourselves at home. (hugs) :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.