Poets logo

FireFighter

Imagery from the Point of View

By AlydiaPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Entering in,

I didn't imagine that it would be like this.

The screams for help make me tremble.

Trapped.

I try to save all that I can.

It's too late now.

Skin dark and broken.

Floor falls and windows explode,

Echos of the thousands inside including me.

Horror is happening before my dead eyes.

People falling in red flames

that age their skin eating it as it goes.

The roar of the fire, so powerful it shakes the floor,

The screams grow.

It covers the sounds of the helpless,

I can tell now I'm at a dead end.

My pain is almost gone.

My skin gone.

Hair is ashes.

Nothing left to me.

Explosions go off from every area

I look out and I'm engulfed in the chokehold of the smoke

Flames creep its way up my body

Everything left of me goes with it.

My breath goes into the flame.

And I'm okay with it.

Numb.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.