Poets logo

Finish It

Personal Choice

By Dan R FowlerPublished about a year ago 1 min read

Finish It

To have lived or walked in another’s shoes,

Gives one a feeling that’s felt when you lose.

Fighting with blood-red fists one day until the next,

To make things right out of something complex.

Those who look and watch and stand afar off,

Simply chuckle and sneer and sometimes scoff.

But it’s not their battle that looms just ahead,

It’s those who seek to finish, rejecting what’s been said.

First, was the gossip as to how things would go,

As they stood pointing fingers with an “I told you so.”

Then, came the laughing and the yelling,

That curdled my blood, tears within me swelling.

It’s hard to go against the traditions of many,

To find the truth that has been hidden from plenty.

Some say they’re a friend to stay ‘til the end,

But run at first light as the rumbles begin.

So let me stand by myself to proclaim if need be,

As I watch those who used me continue to flee.

There’s one thing that can be seen at the finish,

That my life, my hope, and my faith will never diminish.

My life, my choice, and my faith fill me,

To live my life and make choices because I’m free.

No longer bound by those who would discourage,

I push forward to help, to share, and to encourage.

For Astrid

vintage

About the Creator

Dan R Fowler

Dan R. Fowler. 71, writing is more than a hobby, it's a place for me to become anyone I choose to be, visit mystical scenes, or swim deep within my brain. e-book paperback, or audible. type dan r fowler on the search line. Amazon

.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Dan R FowlerWritten by Dan R Fowler

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.