Poets logo

Finding Treasure in the Dark

Poppy's Challenge #3 March

By Bonnie BowermanPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
7
Finding Treasure in the Dark
Photo by Andy Watkins on Unsplash

I dive into the garden shed

To escape the sudden hail

Listening to its thwumping, icy, drumbeat on the tin roof

My phone flashlight flashes in an arc on shapes in the dark

A forgotten vanilla milkshake garbed in spiderwebs–sporting green mold on the ledge

All manner of rakes lean, sloped in a pile

A bric a brack of things – quite necessary, at least once in awhile

On the workbench an old albacore compass lies under layers of dust

I carefully wipe clean its face

Vividly, remembering, all the times, it helped us win the race

FamilyGratitudeFor Fun
7

About the Creator

Bonnie Bowerman

Just a curious soul with a crayon, at the beginning of my writing journey. There were many absorbing detours along the way.

I am so happy, I stumbled upon this community. The depth of talent here, takes my breath away!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Silver Serpent Books2 months ago

    Ooo very cool! You paint a super clear image on this one and an intriguing story behind it. Loved it!

  • Clever way of weaving all 5 word prompts into a poem✅

  • Poppy 2 months ago

    I love the vivid description in this and the nostalgia it evokes. Great work!

  • That vanilla milkshake still seems appealing to me despite the green mold, lol. Loved your poem!

  • John Cox2 months ago

    Lovely and creative use of Poppy’s prompts! I loved an old albacore compass lies under layers of dust. Great work!

  • Here is a link to Poppy's March Challenge - in case you are interested https://vocal.media/writers/poppy-s-prompts-3

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.