Poets logo

Finding Solace

Crestfallen Skies: Echoes of Deceit

By ✨ Resilient Roots✨Published 2 months ago 1 min read
2

In the wake of sunsets, whispers of deceit,

On shores where love once danced, now just retreat.

A vacation's bliss tainted by bitter goodbye,

Left stranded in sorrow, beneath a vacant sky.

In the place we called home, echoes of your name,

Haunting every corner, where memories remain.

You've flown to parental refuge, leaving me alone,

Two weeks since the fracture, now I'm on my own.

Your coldness cuts deeper than the chill of the night,

Abandoning me swiftly, devoid of remorse or contrite.

Forgetting the bond with my child, once so dear,

Your heart, once warm, now encased in icy veneer.

Material wealth, your newfound creed,

Blinded by riches, forsaking all need.

No empathy in your gaze, no warmth to impart,

Only the hollow echo of a callous heart.

Yet, from this wreckage, I shall rise,

Though battered and bruised, I'll claim the skies.

For love knows no bounds, nor wealth nor gold,

Its true measure lies in the warmth we hold.

So farewell to the home we once shared,

To the dreams shattered, to the love impaired.

I'll forge ahead, with strength to borrow,

Leaving behind the shadow of your greed and sorrow.

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

✨ Resilient Roots✨

As an adoptee, I'm sharing my journey to break the silence on adoption, celebrate resilience and foster connection on my path to belonging. My name is Resilient Roots.

Slight redirect with content because...heartbreak </3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.