Poets logo

Finding Me

Beautiful Black Cat Speaks

By Toi PottsPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

Little girl, little girl wanna play hide and seek?

Seems like I was playing that game for a minute by my damn self. I hid the person I loved to fit the mold of others for years. I was the mom. I was the church sister. I was the friend. I was the good worker. I was everything but me. Years ago when I relocated from California to New York to live with my dad, I slowly lost who I was. Ya see in high school I was fearless. If you said I couldn't, I did it just to say.."Now what punk". Lmbo. I struggled through set backs, trauma, rejection, and so much more. My life was being taken from me faster than I care to admit.

Life has a way of really taking a toll without you even knowing it. I sit here on the verge of tears because I desperately want to live again. I want to apologetically live my life like never before and I'm starting today.

Lil girl, Lil girl, do you wanna play hide and seek? Hell no because I've already found myself and I ain't hiding no more!!!!

Much love,

Beautiful Black Cat

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.