Poets logo

Finding Home

Home is what I thought I left behind me

By Judey Kalchik Published 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
16
Finding  Home
Photo by Elisey Vavulin on Unsplash

Home was where my parents brought me.

Home was full of things they bought me.

Home was tears and threats; they mocked me.

Home is what I thought I left behind me.

Home was out, was school, was friends.

Home was bus rides, trust broken mends.

Home was study, a dashed promise ends.

Home is what I thought I left behind me.

Home was him, my one, my other.

Home was warm and he my lover.

Home was stifling and I broke cover.

Home is what I thought I left behind me.

Home was where I'd start anew.

Home is where I learned and grew.

Home is big enough for two

Home is what I've found down deep inside me.

fact or fiction
16

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)11 months ago

    ❤️❤️Great one❗

  • John Eva2 years ago

    The repetition adds so much to this piece. Keep writing, you're killin' it!

  • Dana Stewart2 years ago

    This is a great contender for the challenge. ❤️

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Hearted this before . Love this poem of yours 🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.