Poets logo

Finding Grace through the storm

An introspective personal journey

By Novel AllenPublished 15 days ago Updated about 3 hours ago 1 min read
11
Finding Grace through the storm
Photo by Timo C. Dinger on Unsplash

The winds rattled the shutters,

lightening streaked across the sky,

the windows a kaleidoscope of prismatic hues.

as the

delicate cheeks of Heaven became a mighty flood

hurling a deluge of weeping, whimpering waters,

scourging the blemish from the earth.

This steady stream of flowing liquid gold,

begun to calm my wretched soul

I had been tossed upon a monstrous sea of turmoil

storm-pitched within the confines of my inner soul

the cleansing rain a balm to salve my deep unrest.

That blessed rain had come to rescue me

purifying my sentient roaring bellow.

Calm became my grateful balm, with

peace flowing like a river over my being.

Grace hugged my shoulders

reminding me that 'all will be well'

Human frailty and misconceptions

will always be a part of life

Within this maelstrom, I learned to

walk through the storm

with grace and humility

And listen to 'Desiderata's message'

"Go placidly amidst the noise and haste, and

remember what peace there may be in silence.

As far as possible, without surrender,

be on good terms with all persons.

Yet, speak your truth quietly and clearly".

Ambiguity wrapped in truth.

No matter the repercussions...still

Finding

Grace through adversity!!!

.......................................................

performance poetryBallad
11

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Clouds come floating into my life, no longer to carry rain or usher storm, but to add color to my sunset sky. ~~ Rabindranath Tagore~~

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)about 5 hours ago

    This was really moving Novel!! I really needed to read/ hear this message today!! 💚 Amazing work as always Mama Bear! 🐻

  • Storms hit in the night . Lightning strikes sporadically throughout the storm. As we go through life we have storms , rainbows and tornadoes .

  • Luksi Bayou6 days ago

    The storms, the storms. Sometimes they just hit us so relentlessly! Thank you for this piece, Novel Allen! Your "sentient roaring bellow" and Grace that hugs us. It's real life. 💜🙏🏾💜

  • Tiffany Gordon 11 days ago

    I love the uplifting optimism of this beautifully-written piece! I love the "Grace hugged my shoulders reminding me that All will be well" line! That line truly blessed my soul and contained the triumphant reassurance that I needed to hear today! Thanks so much 4 sharing No No!

  • This felt so wonderful and liberating! Loved your poem!

  • Sid Aaron Hirji14 days ago

    great poem-love the references to Desiderata

  • Grz Colm15 days ago

    ☺️👏 Hi Novel, I hope u are alright and getting that balm.. there is indeed strength un Adversity. 😊💚Here if ya wanna chat. Msged you on fb but didn’t hear back. When you are ready. Peace out

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.