Poets logo

Finding Comfortable

Stripping back the mask #ADHD

By LilyRosePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Finding Comfortable
Photo by Randy Fath on Unsplash

The girl behind the mask

Is a girl - you say - you’d like to meet

But she’s been watching you

Longer than you’ve been watching me

And I know that face you pull

When the mask begins to slip

And I’ve been playing far too long

To let you see me trip

I can be confident or calm

Self-deprecating or shy

And though you know - it’s not quite right

You still don’t understand, quite why

There’s a girl behind this mask

Who can’t afford to let it slip

I don’t know who she is

I don’t know where she fits

This mask has been my friend

And a jailor too

She helps me toe the line

And muddle my way through

Because the world is not that kind

To a girl without a mask

One a little odd

One a little lost

Still, the girl behind the mask

Is a girl I’d like to meet

So if I let it slip a little

will you help me find my feet?

slam poetrycopingart
1

About the Creator

LilyRose

Corporate cog by day, poet by night. Writing is my happy place. Comments, follows and critiques are always welcome!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • A. L. Simpkins2 years ago

    This is so relatable. Love the ending!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.