Poets logo

Final Destination

(Or So I Thought)

By McKenzie KeathleyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2

“Final Destination (Or So I Thought)”

I was just a stop.

A stop on your bus route to find your soulmate.

I played myself the fool,

For I thought I was worthy of your final destination.

However unbeknownst to me,

You have a full itinerary filled with destinations for you to experience.

And to make it all hurt worse,

You bought a one way ticket so you won’t be coming back my way.

I was so invested in ensuring your stay was unmatched,

That I forgot to ask how long you were staying.

I was so busy building us a home,

That I had failed to see you only packed an overnight bag.

And while you definitely made yourself at home,

You were never meant to make your stay permanent.

And now I am forced to look at the collection of dust in the places where your things once stood,

Because I’m too scared to erase the only proof that you were a guest in this house.

This halfway house that was never meant to be your home.

I thought I was your one and only,

But I was a temporary spot holder.

There for one sole purpose;

To fill up your cup ‘till it runneth over with my love.

And while you sat there overflowing with the pieces of myself,

I had to beg you to spare the littlest drops of you,

So I wouldn’t wilt away from dehydration.

Until you had finally grown to dislike the taste of my love,

Leaving me in a drought.

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

McKenzie Keathley

Just an aspiring writer looking to connect with people through my creativity. 💚

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Andre The First2 years ago

    This poem was super relatable and I loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.