Poets logo

Final Battle

Only one will emerge victorious? Will it be me? #VocalVPN

By Xavier J. WatsonPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like
What does your fear look like?

Back against the wall.

There’s no where to fall

But forward.

Retreat is no longer an option.

I must believe that I got this.

The longer I hug the past

The shorter the future gets.

A quarter of my life lived

I have no regrets.

Stand up straight, put your shoulders back.

Act confident even though certainty is what I lack.

Fear clouds my mind with judgment.

It overrides every prayer for strength.

Courage is a wall that must be built

Against the enemy across the pit.

A battle position I know all too well.

Forward, March!

No, I’m not ready.

There’s no where else to go but forward

Toward my destiny.

I weigh every decision carefully

Seeing clearly the road of despair.

My rearview mirror is blacked out

No salvation back there.

If I turn away for a second

The beast becomes king of my lair.

I see you drawing closer

Hand on the holster

No gun concealed.

My thoughts like bullets

Ricocheting across the battlefield.

I stand ground with all my might.

Only one can win this battle.

I hope you’re ready to fight

Cause I’m the king of this castle.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Xavier J. Watson

A creator chasing The Creator.

Southern gentleman & military brat.

Actor, screenwriter, singer, voice actor, blogger.

Enlighten & Entertain!

@xavierjwatson

Instagram Facebook Twitter YouTube

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.