Poets logo

Fill Me Up, Summer

Dingey Dark Days

By Noelani PutirkaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Let summer light shine down on me.

Tell my racing thoughts to flee.

I’m sick of clouds. I need to see the light of day.

I’m on my knees. My tears fall through my hands. I pray.

Let bright light shine down on me.

Tell my racing thoughts to flee.

Your vitamin D is what I need.

Seep through my skin and set me free.

The spring rain came and showered me cleansed.

Tiresome feelings it’s time to end.

Summer, it’s your season to shine with your might.

Take away my anxious worries, take away my frights.

Let your light be all that I see.

So I can feel the power of what it is to be me.

Let your beams reflect off the earth.

Send energy up through me so I can feel my worth.

Summer Day, summer day, please come and take my gloom away.

The darkness carved me out and there is space for summer rays.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Noelani Putirka

I’m a high school counselor, and I’m passionate about social issues and creating a more peaceful, equitable society. In my free time I love to visit the mountains, the beach and local gardens. Painting and writing is my happy place.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.