Poets logo

Fighting Myself

"I am my greatest obstacle."

By Stephen Chan WahPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1
Photo by Adriana Kong

I have often tried to surround myself with people I admired.

I would colour my heart with the parts of people

That to me, shined bright, like a star in the night or the embers that burn steadily in the fire.

Colour me a liar, because this persona is a mask and the task

That I am faced with is to find my authentic self...but I am tired.

I am my greatest enemy.

I hate myself on my best days because it feels like i have no sense in me.

Its like a body on autopilot.

My mind is a labyrinth of thoughts and they get lost sometimes.

I get lost sometimes.

When I was younger, writing used to be so easy.

Fantastical worlds and beautiful stories would spill from my hands and turn into ink almost effortlessly.

It was before I became so guarded.

It was before my mask became so decorated.

As the years went by, and reality started to hit different.

I lost that ability to just sit and write a story.

I stopped writing poems.

I stopped reading and inheriting stories.

And I was never the same since.

But, lately...I've been doing a lot of self reflection.

I've been making some subtle changes.

I don't spend so much time inside my own head anymore.

I got a cat. So that I would have to take care of another living thing besides myself.

I started cleaning my room more often.

I started reading again.

I call my mom and dad every day and tell them I love them.

I started feeling better

Maybe, its because I don't take life so personally anymore

I am still not sure

But, these small changes have formed a cascading effect

It feels like its travelled from some far out ocean to this quiet and distant shore.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Stephen Chan Wah

Trinidadian Writer, currently residing in Toronto. The art of writing means many things to me. It is currently changing and I am always finding myself revisiting my passion for writing in new ways. Thanks for any time spent reading my work.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.