Poets logo

Fiery Beast

A Poem

By Samantha ReidPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

The fear like copper in my throat

Yet my gaze is locked, it can’t be broke

Flames dancing like gypsies to a tambourine

A sight like this I have not seen

Mesmerizing, it draws you in

Delighted in a simple sin

The heat, a wave across space and time

Spreading from what once was mine

They dance and lick the window pane

In such delight they know not my shame

Beautiful both big and small

The match from which my hand did fall

Now consuming what was once my home

I stand and watch, but not alone

These flames bring eyes from all around

To watch the horror, hearts do pound

Yet no eyes can look away

From what I caused this very day

Captivated they stand and stare

This fascination they all do share

Not to come and cast the blame

But to look upon what can’t be tamed

Destruction in its purest form

A beast from beauty it is born

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Samantha Reid

I have been a creative writer for over 10 years, an academic for 7 years, and a blogger for 3 years. Writing is my passion and it's what I love.

Follow me on Instagram @samreid2992

Find me on Twitter @SgReid211

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.