Poets logo

Fields of Gold

Colors of Choice

By Cindy CalderPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
5

Differing colors flickered before my very eyes

A foreshadowing of three things unknown and yet to come,

I wondered if those colors were full of promises or lies

Amidst the steady sound they made, a harmonious hum.

The first was bold, brilliant, blinding, beauteous blue

As steadfastly true as hope, love, faith, and a smile,

Fulfilling in its measure and bringing insight anew

The draw was undeniable, an infinite array of guile.

The second was deep, delirious, dark, and decadent red

Promising deeds and sights ne'er seen by mine eyes

Inherently, it brought an overwhelming sense of dread

Until inside my soul, there welled a wealth of cursed cries.

The third was a gentle, genuine, gallant, gleaming gold

Shimmering in intensity amidst its graceful beams of light;

With it came a peace and wisdom spoken of in days of ole

Regal reassurance, despite the trials, I'd be unerring in my plight.

"Pick me." I heard an unrecognizable whisper of a voice.

"Tis yours and only yours to make this dark evening tide

Your future life 'twill be bound by whatever is your choice,

All things henceforth will have new meaning, all else aside."

Carefully, I ventured forth, still ever sure of my decision

Without a doubt, I knew the path to take and what to do.

"I'll take the gold," I whispered back, enthralled by the vision,

Incandescent fields of gold reflected in my future view.

inspirational
5

About the Creator

Cindy Calder

From Charleston SC - "I am still learning." Michelangelo

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Test3 months ago

    Well done!

  • This was so beautifully penned and very uplifting! Loved your poem!

  • Joe Patterson3 months ago

    Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.