Poets logo

Fiction

A Haibun

By I. R. PathakPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Fiction
Photo by Anthony Tran on Unsplash

Suddenly he broke his silence and in tattered voice with terribly frightened, wide- open eyes, spoke, “ A luminous flash of light caught me on the bed and pulled me out through the closed door as if my body could penetrate anything solid matter, wood or steel. In the spur of a moment, I was gliding in the space without wings. Something invisible was controlling me without holding. I was passing through the planets like a flashlight. Though I was not feeling at speed yet scenes in front of my eyes were mysteriously getting changed at the batting of an eye. Reaching somewhere in the space I was sucked and extracted. Just after that I opened my eyes and found lying on my bed. I know no one will believe me. I am absolutely sane and truly narrating what happened to me last night.”

perceive through fancy

conceive an idea to

impregnate the mind

impregnated mind

nurtures and develops to

deliver fiction

Haibun is a poetry form that combines a haiku with a prose poem. Haibun prose is usually descriptive. It uses sparse, poetic imagery to evoke a sensory impression in the reader. The section of prose is then followed by a haiku that serves to deepen the meaning of the prose, either by intensifying its themes or serving as a juxtaposition to the prose’s content.

Thank you so much for giving your precious time to read. If you like this poem, please appreciate in the way the most convenient to you.

Disclaimer: The original version of this story was published on another platform. Link to original version: https://medium.com/illumination/creation-of-fiction-dcfb63cbdd65

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

I. R. Pathak

Educationist by career, writer-poet by passion, thinker by nature, humorous by habit. Love to share thoughts and experience.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.