Poets logo

Fever Dreams

You can't dream away the fever.

By Aston Martinez Published about a year ago 1 min read
Like

Sometimes I fall into delicious fever dreams.

Full of seraphic beings with beautiful wings.

Everything around awakens in living color,

More vivid than I’ve ever seen.

But don’t forget that without the fever,

It would simply be a dream.

The fever lurks in the shadows,

It’s all around me.

Its mouth waters with desire to taste

Of my mortal flesh.

“This is MY dream,” I say,

“I’ve got the power here!”

But try as I may,

The fever draws ever near.

I’m powerless to stop it,

And my wings have been clipped.

I beg and plead for reprieve,

But no bargain can stop this.

It sinks its teeth into my neck,

Quenching its thirst with my essence.

Then it disappears once more,

Into the dreamy effervescence.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Aston Martinez

I'm a mom of three that has a burning passion for writing and activism. I'm currently a copywriter for Habit Nest, but I'm on Vocal to branch out further and put more of my own personal work out there. I hope you enjoy them!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.