Poets logo

Feeling Alive

A poem about emotions

By Elizabeth Biz DiedrickPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

I've heard too many people wish away their emotions

As if they were the cause of all their problems.

I've seen too many people wanting the torturous numbness I know too well.

Just because things hurt too much to bear.

Idiots yearn to give away the feelings I have fought for every day

I wish I could show them

How desperate I've gotten

because of numbness.

How can they wish away beautiful emotions?

When without them life is so empty and frozen?

Would their minds change

if they knew it caused me to lash out against my own skin?

How can they wish hurting loved ones because of lost compassion?

How can they choose looking into their lover's eyes and feeling nothing?

How can they wish pushing away every friend?

How can they choose to put all life to an end?

They'd feel dead

They'd feel dead

And I know they would regret ever choosing to go numb

They'd begin to treasure the pain at the prick of a thumb

They would worship every tear that fell down their cheek

Every moment with love would be obsessed with touching

They would step off the edge and beg for the rush

They would revel in fighting with the people they loved.

They would latch on to happy moments with such desperation

They'd gasp in pleasure at heart-breaking desertion.

And when they finally get themselves together again

Trying not to get drunk on each sighting of life

They'd glare at anyone who dared to wish away their emotions.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.