Poets logo

Feel with Me

Won't you Empathize

By Thavien YliasterPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
4
Feel with Me
Photo by Kristina Tripkovic on Unsplash

The search for comfort

A land that can elude me once I lie down in it

Like a blanket that is pulled away from atop the sleeper, the land is pulled out from underneath me

The land of Comfort

Whether it's at home, with friends, in successful achievements; the pursuit never ends.

By lucas Favre on Unsplash

...

Comfort? Comfort? Where does it lie?

I've found it in the calm of the day

The rising of the sun

As the day has just begun

With the light breaking over the horizon

The waves of calm washing over me as the waves of light bathe me that were risin'

By Jonathan Borba on Unsplash

...

At times when I've felt down

And have felt that there is no one around,

Nobody to understand, or who would be willing to reach out and extend a hand

Family and friends would be there to provide love and care

They could not pretend as they're concern for me is purely genuine

I was surrounded with love

Given pats on the back with hugs

Wrapped in arms

Protected from harm

Though the pain that I felt in my brain

May have been driving me to anger, but never insane

They would come in

Like a donor, provide me with serotonin

With the pain subsiding, they would help bring me back to regular states of happiness, with an influx dopamine

Giving me the courage and energy to stride forth, to get back on the world's stage scene.

So, whenever I've been down in the dumps, angry at the world, and felt like the invisible thousand cuts that have me hurt

I have a tight-knit community for me to turn to for comfort

By Josue Escoto on Unsplash

...

In success, I have to press forward

If one things fails

I just can't get up and bail

I shouldn't always give myself a false reward

I have to hold myself accountable to my own accord

I need to accomplish

Cause the world will not magically bend to my whims as I wish

Fear... fear of becoming compliant

Not the fear of never being defiant

The fear of no longer developing growth

I would loath to become inert like a loaf

Of bread becoming stale and inert

The energy inside of me, I need to convert

My power and thought into actions

To gain traction

In the direction I wish to go

In the direction I wish to grow

Since if I don't I'll be doing myself a disservice

Not living up to my own attainable standards would upset my nervous

System to the point that the doing nothing is painful

Allowing myself to fall into despair would be self disdainful

Fixing the hole in my bucket, I need to collect

My self discipline along with respect

Affirming myself by telling that I believe

Confirming with myself when I achieve

By Giorgio Trovato on Unsplash

Success is so grand

Attained by our hands

Sure, everything didn't go to as planned

Yet, comfort is a unique and mysterious land

By Mark Harpur on Unsplash

...

Comfort, where does it belong?

Comfort, have I been finding it all along?

At times I search deep within myself, like when I listen to a sad song

I reflect on the times in which I've been wrong

And give closure to the past, so I can move on

Comfort, it escapes us yesterday that's gone

By Vincentiu Solomon on Unsplash

Comfort, it finds us, like a new day that dawns

By Jordan Wozniak on Unsplash

performance poetryslam poetryinspirational
4

About the Creator

Thavien Yliaster

Thank You for stopping by. Please, make yourself comfortable. I'm a novice poet, fiction writer, and dream journalist.

Instagram

YouTube

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Linda Rivenbarkabout a year ago

    "Comfort. It finds us, like a new day at dawn". Such a beautiful ending to this poem. And the pictures you chose were wonderful!

  • Dawn Saloisabout a year ago

    Great poem about comfort!

  • "Like a donor, provide me with seratonin," love it! Great poem.

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Many great and wonderful insights and thoughts in this poem.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.