Poets logo

Feel the needy

Make thinkable when think about

By Esala GunathilakePublished 3 months ago 1 min read
5

My dear lad,

I know,

Every one of us,

Including you and me,

Feel hungry,

But as well,

It is a margin,

That parts us,

Into two corners,

Dear chum,

I can feel very well,

The pain you are in,

Which is a result of,

The poverty,

Brought you by the fate,

I know,

Fighting with hungry,

is worse than,

Engaging a war,

My eyes are emotional,

When I see you on the road,

Or anywhere else,

My hands get very encouraged,

To give you,

Even the only one Kit-Kat with me,

To comfort you,

My heart says,

‘If you can touch and relieve,

That helpless heart inside,

Please do it for them,’

‘If you can take,

A portion of affliction they have,

Please take it for them,’

Then I keep calm,

When I realize it is a daydream,

My dear lad,

Forgive me,

For not doing the best thing,

For you.

Song Lyricssocial commentarysad poetryheartbreakFree Verse
5

About the Creator

Esala Gunathilake

I am an enthusiastic writer who feel the sense of humanity. Thus, I can write stanzas, short stories, novels, articles and blogs as well. I am a blog contributor for the Ananda College Engineer's Ink student chapter website.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Staringaleabout a month ago

    This poem is a heartfelt and poignant reflection on the plight of those who struggle with poverty and hunger. Your desire to alleviate this suffering even if just by sharing the last kit-kat demonstrates your selfless and caring nature. This poem serves as a powerful reminder.

  • It shook the heart for a while Esala! How little amount of people thinks like this. This is a well said one. Let's wish all the souls who are suffering from hungry may overcome it as soon as possible!! Please accept my heartfelt bow on you!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.