Poets logo

February Rain

An Original Song

By Laura MerchantPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
2
Rain can be so many things--beautiful, hazardous, sad, or even full of promise.

For those of you who aren't privy to Texas weather, we don't typically get fluffy, friendly snow when it rains in February. We get hail, sleet, ice, and other dangerous forms of precipitation.

I'm admittedly a bit of a lyrics enthusiast and have been on a poetry kick these many months. Some poems I've set to music—just for fun. As such, "February Rain" will be posted in its lyrical/musically arranged form. When I get a recording posted online, I'll share that, too. Stay tuned.

FEBRUARY RAIN

VERSE 1:

I hoped when I told you about

The thing I'd been living without,

My honesty would leave no room for doubt.

It's easy to take one step back

And point out all the things I lack.

I thought if you love someone, you don't keep track.

So, I learned to conceal

What I could and couldn't feel.

CHORUS:

When hearts are beaten

Too broken to explain,

Such expectations

Soon become ingrained.

When hearts hearts feel nothing,

They celebrate the pain

With frozen confetti,

Like February rain.

VERSE 2:

I hoped in time that you would see

The person I was trying to be.

You said it was what’s best for me.

I never did mean to impose.

I guess that’s just the way it goes.

It’s amazing what you’ll see with no windows…

So, I lied and said that I understood,

But I never would.

CHORUS:

When hearts are beaten

Too broken to explain,

Such expectations

Soon become ingrained.

When hearts hearts feel nothing,

They celebrate the pain

With frozen confetti,

Like February rain.

BRIDGE:

Do those reasons behind

Your actions bless the ground

You claim you “stood”?

You’re so terribly blind and

So heavenly minded

You’re no earthly good.

CHORUS:

‘Cause now my heart’s beaten

Too broken to explain.

And those expectations—

They’ve become ingrained.

This heart feels nothing.

Let’s celebrate! Let’s celebrate the pain

With frozen confetti…

Get your umbrellas ready

For frozen confetti,

That February rain.

performance poetrysad poetryheartbreakexcerpts
2

About the Creator

Laura Merchant

Writer. Teacher. Performer. INFJ. Disney enthusiast. Texan.

Instagram & Twitter: @LMerchant84

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.